Curriculum Overview

The Little Dalton curriculum recognises that development occurs at different times for different children since they all learn at a different pace and have varying learning inclinations and capabilities. We tailor our curriculum to meet each child’s individual needs, interests and abilities in order to maximise their learning opportunities. We are dedicated to providing high quality child-centred bilingual education for children aged from 2 years to 6 years.

The Little Dalton curriculum is divided into four different age groups: Pre-K, K1, K2 and K3. Our curriculum integrates the EYFS (the well-respected Early Years Foundations Stage from the English National Curriculum) with a Chinese curriculum developed in collaboration with Tsinghua University Primary School. Learning goals for each level are clear, age appropriate, systematic, achievable and challenging. We offer abundant opportunities to engage children in a variety of learning modalities and focus mainly on literacy, numeracy, arts, social, emotional, cognitive and physical development. The Little Dalton curriculum fosters the interdisciplinary skills of each and every child and aims at strengthening the mind, the body and the spirit.

Little Dalton is a truly bilingual (Putonghua and English) and intercultural school. Languages are taught through immersion with special emphasis on reading. This is carefully supplemented by brain stimulating flash cards, phonics, and pinyin. Children who do not have a Putonghua-speaking environment at home are welcome to join our Chinese Immersion Class. We are also happy to provide an English Immersion Class if it would be beneficial to our students and their families.

Curriculum Focus Areas


The Little Dalton Curriculum is divided into six fundamental focus areas:

  • Personal, Social Development and Self Care
  • Language, Listening and Literacy (English and Putonghua)
  • Numeracy and Problem Solving
  • Science and Technology, Global and Environmental Understanding
  • Gross and Fine Motor Development
  • Creative Development

While Little Dalton’s Curriculum focuses on these six fundamental areas, it generally applies them through cross-curricular or interdisciplinary teaching. The core of all instruction is literacy, where children will learn various skills related to numeracy, language, arts and crafts, gross motor, fine motor, science and technology and global understanding.